Packing Packing Packing

Packing. If feels like I have done nothing but packing and organizing this past week. I am about to take off on my journey to South Africa, immediately followed by a week on the lake with my family, which will be immediately followed by my permanent move to KC where I will begin work. Did I spread myself a little thin over the next month? Probably. Am I sorry? Not yet! I am so excited for adventure after adventure after adventure. This past week, I have been running around trying to prepare for everything coming up. I think I am just about ready… as long as I don’t end up in South Africa with nothing but swim suits and coverups that are supposed to be packed for the lake.

Image

This past weekend George and I drove up to KC and met my parents for a full day of apartment hunting. Most people who know me would not be surprised that I prepared a packet of printed information about 5 different apartment complexes. The info for each included the pros, cons, distances to each of our places of work, prices etc. My intensive preparation packet paid off, because we were able to make a selection pretty harmlessly. So I now have a place to call home when I am done with all my travels. Having selected a place to live really has allowed me to envision what my life will look like in just a few weeks. The empty apartment we saw will soon be full of my things and be me home!

The rest of the week has been spent moving all of my stuff around my room…I like to call it packing, but it really looks like I have just been shifting stuff from one side of the room to the other. South Africa seems so mysterious to me, I don’t even know what to bring. There are 8 of us headed from the MU engineering school to lead a 4 day engineering camp for students at a disadvantaged school in the Cape Town area. These students are high school aged, but their education is not at the same level of the high school educations here in the US. Our job is to get them interested in learning, and in particular in science and engineering topics. I am so excited to be able to share my passion with these students. I have always loved teaching and am super pumped about my lesson plan in binary….I’m a nerd I know 🙂

We will also be going to Robben Island where Nelson Mandela was jailed ( This will be my second trip to prison this summer :/  –>check out my post about Alcatraz). If you follow the news, Mandela is in currently in very poor health. We have been monitoring his situation as no one can really predict what the country will be like in a mourning period for a great leader. My homework to you: Watch the movie Invictus, starring Morgan Freeman as Mandela. The movie is very inspiring, and great background to what I will be writing about the next two weeks.

We will also see Table Mountain, tour Kusile Coal  Fired Power Plant, visit Johannesburg, and safari in Kruger National Park. I am not sure how much internet access I will have over the next 17 days, but I plan to document the whole trip with lots of photos and my written accounts of our experience there. I hope you stay tuned.

One thought on “Packing Packing Packing

  1. Prayers for safe travel and inspiring many lives! I will miss you and look forward to your return. Hugs!

Leave a Reply

