Back to Blogging

I apologize for the long break between posts.  When we were in Cape Town I was doing a good job about jotting down my experiences each night. After our last day at the school, I had a hard time writing down my feelings. Each time I pulled out my tablet, I would think about our time at the school and reflect on our friendships with these students. Knowing that I have probably will not see these bright teens ever again, and knowing that after the trip is over, I will go back to a life where I am blessed with so much comfort and luxury. Once back in the states, my life will move on. I will move into my own apartment, drive my nice car, start a wonderful new job, plan a beautiful wedding, and be able to buy everything I need and so much of what I want. Meanwhile, there are so many of our sisters and brothers are struggling just to get by. I wish there was so much more that I could do to share my blessings.

One thing that I would like to do to share what I have with others is to share the gift of a college education with one of the learners at Bellville South. I have talked with George and we are going to make it a priority to create a scholarship to send one learner to college. One year of tuition at the college we visited (Western Cape University) costs $1,200. Education is much cheaper than it is in the U.S., yet so many are still unable to afford it. Without education, the cycle of poverty continues.

After a few weeks of correcting jet lag, catching up with family, moving, and reflecting on my experiences, I am back to share the rest of a fabulous trip.

…Then ironically on my next post, my mother board crashed and I have been without a computer for the last week! I have been able to recover my files and am catching up now! Thanks for being patient.

Leave a Reply

