Friday Favorites

Image

Some of the blogger girls I follow do a “Friday Favorite” post, so I thought I would try it out. It took me like .05 seconds to think of my first favorite. Nexxus youth renewal dry shampoo! If I could only choose one hair product/makeup item/ beauty treatment, this would be it!

I have very thin, naturally straight, blonde, flat-as-can-be, oily hair. (I would have been a big hit in the 70’s). I know they say it is unhealthy, but I HAVE to wash my hair every single day, usually by the end of day one it already looks greasy. If for some reason I don’t have the chance to wash my hair before 24 hours, you best believe i will be wearing a hat….That is until I discovered this dry shampoo. Well actually George got it for me to try out when he was interning in the plant that makes some Nexxus products (He really spoiled me with great hair products during this time!) I had been previously using tresemme dry shampoo which I thought was okay at the time, but It wasn’t that great. It felt like it would cover up the grease for an hour or two but didn’t leave me feeling fresh. I also felt like it had a pretty distinct smell, which I started to associate with dirty hair.

The Nexxus dry shampoo has a delightful fresh smell. I  almost always get compliments when I wear it, people will tell me they love my perfume and how fresh I smell.

I am not really sure why it is only marketed as a youth renewal, because I am young and totally appreciate it.

“Our first anti-aging range that combats eight signs of aging hair: volume loss, breakage, roughness, less shine, dryness, brittleness, unruliness and loss of color vibrancy. Replenishes and revitalizes for more vibrant, youthful-looking hair.”

(Website for more details) It can be purchased at any drugstore that carries major hair brands.

Some times I feel like products like these change the labels simply for marketing when they are selling the same thing as the cheaper alternative, but I stand behind the marketing 100% here.  Here is a “it claims vs. how I feel” to sum it up!

Added Volume: totally love it! so much volume. I used it simply for volume even when my hair is fresh out of the shower (and I think it keeps it feeling clean longer)

Reduces breakage/roughness/ dryness/ brittleness: I honestly see less breakage since I started using it ( 8 months ago) I have scheduled less appointments to have dead ends trimmed off, and my hair is the longest it has ever been

Less shine: I can go two days with out grease  shine! I never could have done this before

Prevents loss of color/ vibrancy:  I am not sure about this one…I don’t really know how to measure it.

For those of you who have not used a dry shampoo, its super easy. I flip my hair upside down and spray, like hairspray, into the roots and places were it gets oily first. I then rub it into the scalp a bit, and  let is sit for a few mins (I usually do my eye makeup). I rub it in again and then brush my hair out. You will not believe the volume until you try it.

This post is 100% my personal opinion and is not endorsed by any company whatsoever. (however is Nexxus wants to pay me, I would totally be cool with that! )

Leave a Reply

