A Delightful Mother/Daughter Weekend

Half way though this past week I was looking at my 4 page wedding to do list feeling a little overwhelmed. It’s just about 110 days until the big day, and there is still a lot left to do.  Lucky for me, I have an incredible mom and sister. My sister has this great job that has the benefit of hooking up my parents with airline tickets. With just a couple days notice my sister was able to get my mom a ticket to come spend the weekend with me!

Even being empty nesters, my parents have been staying busy on the weekends with church activities, work, taking care of the house, and getting together with their friends. I was so glad that this weekend they didn’t have too much going on, and mom was able to take a break from the cleaning and to do list to spend time with me!

I couldn’t have asked for a better couple days. My mom swooped in and did two of the things she does best: selflessly help me, and shop! God gave us the perfect day for strolling around the Zona Rosa, a huge outdoor shopping mall in KC. We girl talked as we window shopped and discussed wedding accessories and center pieces.

Mom is the BEST lunch date! It seems restaurants make  their portions perfectly Julie + Lynne size. (Not to mention we like the same flavors, and she always foots the bill 😉

We made two trips to our favorite store. Once for wedding registration and once just for fun.  After one month of work, I was running the risk of an outfit repeat. Luckily “my personal shopper” was able to find me a few cute outfits to prolog the dreaded outfit repeat.

I got fancy with the registry “booper”. It was so nice to have a kitchen pro help advise my choices on the home-making necessities.

registering

We shopped until we dropped then headed back to my place to tackle that massive to do list. We got down to business and were still able to squeeze in a walk and a little wine before dinner.

We ended the night with Chinese food, a redbox, Oreos, and pillow talk before bed.

chineese

I am so thankful that my mom was able to drop what she was doing and join me for the weekend. It was so nice to have her to myself and show her my life here. She has taught me to cook, clean, and take care of a home. She has prepared me to be independent,  and I really liked showing her the life I have made for myself here because of what he has taught me.

I was sad to see her go home on Sunday afternoon, but so thankful for a perfect weekend.

I hope you had a wonderful weekend too!

Leave a Reply

