Easy Freezer to Crock-pot meals

I don’t know about you, but my life has been  busssyyy lately. Well who am kidding, I think I have found a way to be busy since I was born. I am a do-er and like to be busy, and if things seem to slow down, I find myself getting involved in something new to fill that gap. With my new job keeping my busy all day, and my evenings and weekends have been full of wedding planning.  Even though I like to cook, I find that I don’t always have the time or energy.

A couple weeks ago I decided to try out a few crock pot recipes that I could prepare in advance, freeze, and just pop them into the crock pot in the morning before work. This was the best decision I have made in a while. Even after a hard day at work, I can walk into my place, it smells incredible, and a delicious meal awaits me…no hassle required. Its like living with my own personal chef…or my mom…depending on how you look at it. If you don’t have a mom, or wife to have a hot meal ready when you come home: I recommend you invest in a crock pot.

Get your self one of these:

images

or one of these:

2013-09-28 16.39.42

I had two free evenings so I spent one night  looking up a couple recipes that sounded good and easy, surveying my pantry, and shopping for the goods.

On night two I got down to business. I choose two easy recipes so It didn’t take long at all. Since my fiancé George takes me out for dinner often when I am in town, I thought it would be nice to whip him up a few meals too so he could have some home and healthy cooking after his classes.

Both of the recipes turned out very well, and the chicken was so juicy and easy to shred!

There really is no wrong way to make these meals so change up the amounts based on your tastes or number of mouths you are feeding. Add flavors you like. Let me know if you have a suggestion!

These meals are so easy to just pop everything into a zip lock freezer bag, so here are the ingredients and some tips, its hardly a recipe.

Write the name of the meal on the ziplock bag with a sharpie. Sometimes it is hard to tell what is inside when its frozen. Also add the date,  serving , and cooking time. (For this low 4-8 hours or high from 2-4 hours)

2013-09-30 20.25.47

It makes it much easier to prop the bag up in a Tupperware container

2013-09-30 20.26.57

2013-09-30 20.15.02

Here is the recipe I created for

Crock- pot Fajita Chicken

2013-09-30 20.28.32

Ingredients/ recipe:

  • Cut any extra fat off the 3-4 chicken breast
  • Add the following into the bag
  • Butter (1/4 cup–> but I used about a table spoon and more salsa it is really just important to have plenty of liquid or moisture)
  • 2 cups of bell peppers ( I used red, green, yellow, and orange–> choose the colors you like!)
  • 2 cups of sweet onions
  • 2013-09-30 20.40.46
  • 1 packet of taco or fajita seasoning
  • Lime juice (about a table spoon per chicken breast)
  • 2013-09-30 20.45.50
  • Salsa (I used about a cup because I didn’t add much butter to be a little healthier. If you prefer to use butter, 1/2 cup of salsa will do. I also added some finely chopped tomatoes to mine!) Try out different flavors of salsa for unique tastes.
  • 2013-09-30 20.46.47
  • Cilantro (fresh or use the paste mentioned here) add as much or as little as you like. I just added a big glob, probably a tablespoon and a half but would probably add more next time.
  • 2013-09-30 20.12.56

Voilà!  Zip up the bag, stick it in the freezer. Since I work 8 hour shifts I pop it in the crock pot when it is completely frozen and leave it on low for the full 8 hours. When it is thawed or completely fresh 4 hours on low was perfect.

Here is the recipe I created for

Crock pot Healthy  Italian Chicken

2013-09-30 20.09.39

Some of the steps are the same so excuse my redundancy.

  • Cut any extra fat off the 3-4 chicken breast
  • Add the following into the bag
  • Butter (1/4 cup–> but I used about half of that and some olive oil )
  • Olive Oil (just enough to keep the chicken moist about 1/8 cup)
  • 1 Packet of Italian salad dressing packet
  • Onion – depending on your taste, I cut 1 quarter inch sliver of a large onion. If you don’t like onions very much leave them large just to add the flavor and pick them out before serving
  • Garlic powder – George and I really like garlic flavors so I added a few shakes, about 2 teaspoons
  • Basil (as much or as little as you like of fresh or paste mentioned here. I used about a tablespoon and a half)
  • 2013-09-30 20.12.45

Voilà!  Zip up the bag, stick it in the freezer. Since I work 8 hour shifts I pop it in the crock pot when it is completely frozen and leave it on low for the full 8 hours. When it is thawed or completely fresh 4 hours on low was perfect.

I would recommend using this chicken with pasta. Next time instead of adding butter or oil, I plan to try tomatoes for a red sauce or cream cheese and cream of chicken soup for a creamy alfredo- like sauce.

Like usual, I forgot to take photos of the after product because I was too busy eating it. Whoops!

Leave a Reply

