So thankful!

Happy thanksgiving everyone! I hope that you all are able to be near someone you love this week, and have something to be truly thankful for on this day (and every day). 

I am thankful for so much in my life, especially in  this season of change for me. I am so excited and thankful that George and I will be able to head to St. Louis to see so many people I love and who love me. Thanksgiving definitely rates among the top on the ranking of holidays. It’s not because I like the pie and all the food (don’t get me wrong, that’s nice), but rather that I get to be with family. Each year we celebrate thanksgiving with my grandma’s cousins, and their families. This is my Dad’s mom’s cousins. I know it sounds complicated, and I guess it is. I don’t think most people even know their Grandma’s cousins, but I do, and I am so incredibly thankful for this. 

My grandma was an incredible woman, so strong, joyful, funny, beautiful inside and out. She had such a youthful spirit that I hope to carry with me. She fought cancer and passed away the summer before my 7th grade year. Thanksgiving is my favorite because when I am surrounded by her “people” I feel her spirit the most. I love hearing stories of her adventures and love seeing her in the people she shaped and was shaped by. 

This past weekend my cousins planned the most amazing spa day to celebrate me before the wedding. I was looking forward to the weekend, and having the chance to relax and let go of some of the wedding planning stress I have been harboring. The weekend ended up being so much more than just relaxing to me. Since my grandparents passed, and the cousins have grown, it has been hard to get the group together very often. The time we have together is so precious to me. We spent the morning getting pampered and drinking fruity wine. I know Grandma would have given anything to be there with us, and I know she was. After we were all massaged, manicured, and facial(ed), we brought our drinks out to the hot tub and girl talked. We shared our memories of Grandma and Grandpa, the sleepovers we had at their house, and the countless Spice Girls’ songs we preformed. This weekend I saw my Grandma’s spirit living in my sister and my cousins. I am so thankful to have them and these moments to share with one another and with her. 

I have so much to be thankful for, but over the past few months the women in my life have been so wonderful, So I want to dedicate the rest of this post to thanking them. First and foremost my mom has been incredible helping me to plan the wedding of my dreams. I know it is hard for her to plan for this day when she still wishes I “would shrink back down to a 2T” and be her baby forever. She has dropped all she was has been doing to fly to KC (twice) to help me. These were two of the best weekends I have spent in KC. Thanks mom! My sister (the maid of honor) has also been a huge help for me. She has had her hand in every event, and is doing as much as she can even though she is not close. She has dedicated many weekends traveling to me and the wedding festivities. My cousins, aunts, and girlfriends have given so much time, support, and money to making me feel so incredibly special. I have been celebrated more than I deserve, and am still looking forward to another shower and another girls celebration this weekend. My heart just swells at the thought. 

Thank you for reading my blog. I started this blog to write for me, to remember my adventures and thoughts about life, but your reads and comments bring me up. Thank you! I wish you a wonderful holiday and much more to be thankful for!

Leave a Reply

