Christmas Card

Most of you know my mom writes an epic Christmas poem each year full of rhymes and an update on our family since the last December. I have decided that maybe its about time to send out my own Christmas card this year. I could write a poem….oh who am I kidding? It couldn’t compare. Then I thought again. With the wedding so close and so many details to attend to, I would drive myself mad trying to get a nice letter out in time. It looks like I will wait for a new last name before you get a Christmas card in the mail from me.

I love reading cards from family and friends each December to look back on their year and see how much growth and change has occurred over the last 12 months. So much has happened for me in the last year, why not have a Christmas-cardblog ?  ( I made that word up).  I can write my heart out, and don’t have to limit myself to one 4×6 photo!Here goes!

Slide1

Since last Christmas card….

I headed back to my senior year at MU to get down to business. Whoever said senior year is a blow off, was definitely not an engineer. I completed my computer and electrical engineering capstone project: A high efficiency desensitized solarcell hydrogen generator. Yes, it was as complicated as it sounds. Somewhere in the mist of all the studying I was able to squeeze in a little fun on our epic snow days, a spring break trip to Gulf Shores,  and an amazing, Engineer’s week celebration and dance.


Slide7

In the spring I purchased an (almost) new car. It was the first time owning a car that was not almost as old as me. My 2011 Honda Civic treats me well driving back and forth from STL to KC and back, and boy do I love the amazing gas mileage! (34mpg!) I love knowing that my car is reliable, and that it is a product of my hard work and years of saving.

Slide5

In May came a long awaited graduation. So many loved ones came to celebrate with me and 12 (male) classmates received our Computer Engineering degrees. Yup that’s right. It was the only girl in my graduating class. It was quite the change from my graduation from CJA, all girls highschool, four years ago.

Slide3

During my time at MU, I worked as a part-time nanny for two amazing boys. It was tough to say good by to my two little ninjas. Its hard to believe that when I met them they were just 2 and a few months old!

Slide8

I said “good bye” to Columbia for now, but will always be a tiger at heart. I plan to stay involved at the University through my position on the Engineering Recent Alumni Board.

Life sped up real quick after graduation.  George and I set a wedding date, and got to planning. I spent my summer based out of STL planning for the next stages of my life, and traveling every change I had.

2013-11-30 13.06.38

Merry Christmas from the (almost) Terlep Family
Merry Christmas from the (almost) Terlep Family

A family trip to San Francisco was a great time! We visited Alcatraz, Yosmite, China town, Muir Woods, Golden Gate park, and much more (read about our adventures here!). I think we walked hundreds of miles on this trip. It was such great family time exploring a new city.

Slide10

I headed to South Africa with a group of engineering students from MU. We spent a week at a school outside of Capetown teaching students about engineering and promoting college education. It was a great experience to see how different our lives were, yet how our hearts are the same. We spend the rest of the trip exploring South Africa and on safari in Kruger national park.

Slide9

Our annual family trip table rock lake did not disappoint!

bran

On my birthday I moved across the state to Kansas City.  I decorated an apartment of my own, and even learned to cheer for the KC Royals.

Slide4

My very first “big girl job” has been more than I can ask for. I have found a perfect balance of my computer- nerd personality and my desire to work with, and help people.  I project manage and work on software for a health care technology company. I love being able to geek-out and see first hand how my work is impacting patient care in hospitals and everyday life.

Lately when I am not working, I am wedding planning, cooking, exercising, or traveling back to Columbia or St. Louis to spend time with George and family. I have had some great opportunity to reconnect with old friends at showers and bachelorette  festivities. I just couldn’t ask for more!

bach

 

December marked a second exciting graduation. My Chemical engineer has a great job to look forward to soon starting after the wedding.

Slide11

I have so many blessings in my life and so many people that have helped support me this year. I have loved meeting people though this blog, and sharing my thoughts, feelings, projects, and adventure with you all along the way. Thanks for reading. I wish each and everyone of you a very merry Christmas. My we all focus on the Lord in such a beautiful season as we share in love and traditions.

PS: Here is my Christmas gift to you all!

Attempted Christmas Eve Whitney Family Christmas pic
Attempted Christmas Eve Whitney Family Christmas pic

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

