Wedding Make up- Guest Post from Katie

I am so very excited for my first ever “guest post” on the blog today. Katie from “katieraines.blogspot.com“. I was so incredibly trilled when Katie agreed to do my wedding day makeup:

A) Because she always looks beautiful. Even though her beauty is a God given gift, I know she has so much talent when it comes to make up (hair, fashion, decorating, and more).

B) It was really great having a friend who knows me well and knows what I look like on a normal day so on my wedding day I still looked like myself (just a total glam-ed out version!)

Katie really did her homework and made me feel so incredibly beautiful on my special day. When I mentioned I liked a little purple in my eye shadow to highlight my green eyes, she practiced and tried many options until she found the perfect look for me! I also loved the fact that we spent an entire football game in her closet playing with makeup, trying on dresses, and girl talking while our husbands watched the MU Tigers play. 

Read below for her great beauty tips:

“I was so flattered when Julie asked me to be a guest blogger today! And even more flattered that she requested I do her makeup on her wedding day!

Julie has become such a special person to me. We relate so well on so many levels -We like girly things, home decor DIYs and our husbands are both obsessed with Dr. Pepper. What more is there?

Photo 1

But in all seriousness, Julie is a joy to be around. She is bubbly, witty, and absolutely charming (you meet her and you love her)! She made a stunning bride!

Photo 2

Below is a step-by-step list of all products used for Julie’s wedding makeup. I will introduce the product and explain why I chose to use it!

Let’s do this!

Cover FX Mattifying Primer with Anti-Acne Treatment

Photo 3

Since primers are not an every-day product for me, I had to sample quite a few to finally land on this one. I wanted an irritation-free, lightweight primer and that’s exactly what this is! I blended this over Julie’s face as a base for her concealer/foundation.

Benefit Boi-ing in light/medium

Photo 4

As one of the top rated concealers on the market, this was a no-brainer. Boi-ing easily blends and provides excellent, natural looking coverage. Julie has great skin, so I just used this on a few areas with a little redness.

MAC Studio Fix Fluid in NW25

Photo 5

A few weeks before the wedding I went with Julie to test out a few foundation colors at MAC. Being able to sample the product always makes me feel confident, as well as the bride.

One thing I always ensure is a low SPF foundation. The higher the SPF, the more likely to give a “ghost white” glow in photos. No good! Mac Studio Fix has a low SPF of 15 and provides a very natural matte finish that photographs incredibly well.

realTechniques Expert Face Brush

Photo 6

I wanted to call this brush out separately because it is absolutely wonderful to blend liquid foundation. Using a brush provides even coverage, less irritation and isn’t as messy as using your fingers! RealTechniques brushes are great for makeup experts or newbies and sell for only $9.

NARS Orgasm Illuminator

Photo 7

Once you get past the awkward name of the product, you see how awesome this stuff is! I chose to use this at the tops of Julie’s cheek bones to provide a dewy glow. Since her foundation is fairly matte, adding an illuminator helps liven things up and provide a subtle, healthy peach gleam.

Benefit HOOLA

Photo 8

Julie has a beautiful round face, so I used a matte bronzer to accent her features. I applied Hoola in the following areas:

-the hollows of her cheeks to accentuate her cheekbones

-the sides of her nose, from bridge straight down, so it appears long and thin

-along her jawline to appear sharp and strong

-the top of her forehead along her hairline where sunshine hits

I wanted the contouring to be subtle, so I blended very well.

Physicians Formula Mineral Glow Pearls Blush in Rose Pearl

Photo 9

I used a small amount of pink blush on the apples of Julie’s cheeks. She has a wonderful amount of color naturally, so I was careful to not over-do it.

Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion

Photo 10

Eye primers eliminate creasing, so I was sure to prime Julie’s lids before applying any shadow.  I have been using this particular primer for years and trust its results to last all day and night.

Photo 11

Urban Decay NAKED (1) Palette

Photo 12

There are 3 colors I used from the Naked palette on Julie’s eyes.

First I applied “Sin”, a muted pink champagne shimmer, to her eyelids.

Then I used “Naked”, a buff matte, along her crease.

Photo 13

I used Toasted, a deep mauve, on the outside half of her lid. I also used this along her lower lash line.

Photo 14

Then I used 2 other colors from different palettes.

Photo 15

Sonia Kashuk Eye on Fall #12

Photo 16

I used this dusty purple in the corners of Julie’s eyelids to create a subtle “smokey” look. It swatches a lot differently than it appears in the pan, and is absolutely beautiful on the eyes!

The muted pinks, rich mauves with a hint of dusty purple bring out the green in Julie’s eyes and create a sophisticated look without screaming PINK or PURPLE! They all have taupe/brown undertones giving them a beautiful, neutral appearance.

Revlon Colorstay Coffee Bean

Photo 17Last I used this matte cream color along Julie’s brow bone to define her eyebrows.

I applied all eyelid shadows with MAC 286 and lower lash with Elf Eye Shadow Brush.

Photo 18

Maybelline Define-a-brow in Dark Blonde

Photo 19

I used this to fill in Julie’s eyebrows and give them shape. This is the absolute best eyebrow pencil for blondes because of its beautiful taupe shade without any odd red tones. Every single time I try this on someone, they get hooked! It’s the best!

Tarte Amazonian Clay waterproof liner in black

Photo 20I used this along the edge of Julie’s lower lash line as well as the upper lashes to create the illusion of thick, full lashes (although Julie already has amazing lashes). I kind of consider this my “signature”… I always add a dark line on the lid. I think it looks flattering on everyone!

I like this specific eyeliner because it stays put and is easily blend able. It’s not quite as sharp as other liquid eyeliners and appears more “soft”.

Photo 21

Covergirl Lashblast Waterproof in Very Black

Photo 23I have used Lashblast for years and believe it provides the maximum amount of volume by doing a few layers. I had Julie apply her own mascara because it was too difficult from my angle -her eyelashes are so long that they touch the tops of her eyelids! Lucky girl!

NYX Lipliner Pencil in 860 Peekaboo Neutral

Photo 24I applied a subtle neutral pink to outline Julie’s lips. She used a thin layer of chapstick with her own lipgloss on top. The lipgloss was a very similar color to the pink cap on this NYX liner. Perfect choice!

Urban Decay All Nighter Makeup Setting Spray

Photo 25The last and final step was applying a generous amount of all nighter spray. I don’t understand how this stuff works, but it does. It keeps makeup on all day and night. She didn’t even need to touch up!

Photo 26Stunning!!

So blessed to be a part of Julie’s big day! Thankful for our friendship. And also for our love of makeup 🙂 ”

Photo 27

I hope you enjoyed this post from Katie! Her blog is my favorite, and I know you will enjoy reading about her beauty tips, her great decorating style, her crazy little dog, and getting a peek into her honest heart. Check out her blog here!

More on my wedding series below, and still more to come!

3 thoughts on “Wedding Make up- Guest Post from Katie

Leave a Reply

