Centerpieces

102-IMG_2866 103-IMG_2868

Here are the centerpieces I decided on for the tables at the reception. I think they turned out beautifully! My colors were blue and silver, my idea of a perfect winter wonderland meets new years eve. I wanted the room to give off a fun and sparkly wintery vibe. I also am not huge into details. I didn’t want anything too complicated since I spent half the planning period in a totally different city. I didn’t want to have to move a ton of stuff across the state, or have a lot to do right before the big day. The less stress the better!

I found some great submerged flower ideas on Pinterest and thought it was a very pretty and simple look.

1f6f65f5adad3c3df90294afd3a86cd5
Pin-speration

The water and candles created for a beautiful glow and shine, and was still able to incorporate the blue color in the flower. We made a few modifications and ended up with….

140104_433

To make these I used my hot glue gun to attach a silk flower to a river rock/marble bead. The flower actually stayed down fine on its own but I figured just to be sure a little weight wouldn’t hurt.

Both centerpieces were placed on a large snow flake and a blue square of fabric.  I choose a lame` fabric because I loved the color and shine to it. I used this fabric instead of a runner to tie the color into each table. The reception venue provided 3 votive candles per table, that we set on the fabric around each centerpiece. Then we sprinkled sliver kisses over the table for a little extra sparkle!

Center Piece

The other centerpiece was originally going to be a white tree with snow flakes  and icicles hanging down.  One of my amazingly creative relatives  came up with this idea and I loved it. We decided to use wine bottles as a base because it seemed to be very sturdy for that specific tree branch. Banoo came over on a bridesmaid call, and went into the woods hunting for perfect tree branches.

IMAG0303

It turned into a much harder task than I thought. We ended up with a bunch of unstable braches, and tons of bug bites.

We put the branches on hold as she helped me get the labels off the wine bottles.

Here is how we got the labels off. It was a breeze!

Filled a cooler with hot water. You could also use a large tub, but I liked that the cooler kept the water hot for longer allowing the magic to work.  We then filled the bottle with water (so they would stay submerged) and put them in the cooler.  I added a squeeze of dish soap, and about a quarter cup of baking soda. We let it sit for about 30mins-1 hour. When we came back we could easily peel the labels off. Some that were more stubborn, came of easily once we rubbed them with a rag or our hands under the warm water. Most of them were easy, but even the stubborn ones were perfectly label free in the end.


Painting the bottles proved to be the harder part.  (Shout out to Banoo, Nathan, Dad, and Will for the help!) I used a silver metallic  paint bought at home depot.  We used a funnel to pour the paint into the bottles, swirled it around and dumped it out.  I read about this being a super easy process, but I think the paint we used gave us a little bit of trouble. It didn’t stick to the glass very well, and took DAYS to dry. We also had to do a few coats because as it slowly dried, it also dripped down leaving some spots near the neck uncovered.
047

The final look gave it a bit of a mercury glass feel. It wasn’t what I originally had in mind, but really like how they tuned out!

103-IMG_2868

I pondered the tree idea for a little longer, but then  ended up finding the perfect holiday picks at Michael’s Craft Store. They ended up giving a similar feel to the tree, but much easier, and safer! The glitter also added the party sparkle I was looking for. We added two festive bows. (Thanks to Julia and Elisa for helping in the wedding workshop!)

049

 

 

Okay now…. I’m hesitating to write this next part, but I promised to be honest. Right? Well if anyone has tried looking for artificial flowers that look realistic, its hard. It’s even harder in blue. I looked at all of the crafting shops, and didn’t find the right flowers. Until I ended up finding the perfect flowers in a strange way. Clearance isle. K-mart. After Memorial day. Left over grave site arrangements. Like this one

Silk Funeral Flowers Blue Cross AF015-500x500

Enough said. Am I ashamed? No. A bride on a budget has got to do what a brides go to do.

And no one even knew… until now! haha

140104_433

 

Here is my sister with the mocked up prototype in September.

IMAG0424

Here are some more of the final product.

140104_437140104_438140104_435140104_434

We still have the centerpieces if any bride-to-bes (or anyone planning an event ) wants to buy or borrow any of the items please don’t hesitate to comment or email me! (Whitnj@gmail.com). I’d love to share!

More on my wedding series below, and still more to come!

2 thoughts on “Centerpieces

Leave a Reply

