Something Borrowed, Something Blue…and Something Homemade

Something Old

Yesterday I went over the something old, something new that I wore on my wedding. Today I have the borrowed and blue…and homemade!

My borrowed item was the necklace I wore. It was from my mom’s jewelry box. I had tried on and bought a lot of necklaces, but when I brought them home and tried them on with the dress they just didn’t go well. With the neckline of the dress and the beading and detailing I needed something simple. This little heart necklace was perfect.

243-IMG_3044

My blue were these beautiful earrings. I found them in Johannesburg South Africa when I went on my trip this past summer. We had just set a wedding date before leaving for the trip. When I saw these earrings I just couldn’t pass them up. George funded them for my birthday present 😉 I loved the style and the shine and it was great to have gotten them in a place that made such an impact on me.

IMAG1206

IMAG1209_BURST003

These earrings are really special to because forever they will remind me of South Africa, my wedding, and my husband.

132-IMG_2901 183-IMG_2960

Okay you caught me… I know homemade is not part of the rhyme, but sometimes you just gotta take things into your own hands. Since our wedding was January 4th I knew I would need some type of coat or shawl to keep me warm going from place to place. I began looking for a white fur coat around Christmas but just couldn’t find what I was looking for. A few things were close but REALLY expensive, and I just couldn’t see myself spending a ton on something I would probably only wear once or twice. I had a free Saturday in January and Banoo and I went to EVERY store in the Zona Rosa. I mean every store, even Justice! Finally we gave up and decided to take a risk and head to the fabric store with the help of the fabric store lady we headed back to my apartment with a bag of fur and a pattern. After wrestling with a pattern for the first time, some internet searches, and a helpful friend, I ended up with this!

IMAG1212

IMAG1210

My homemade fur coat! This was the very first time I used a pattern, and I thought it turned out really well. It was exactly what I had envisioned. How cool is it that sewing our own clothes can reduce any limitations. If you can’t buy it, make it! Plus with a coupon and a sale, this beauty only cost me $20!

072 243-IMG_3044 140104_394 140104_407

 

More on my wedding series below, and still more to come!

 

 

 

One thought on “Something Borrowed, Something Blue…and Something Homemade

Leave a Reply

