Birthday…I mean Birthweek

You know some people have a birthday and some people have a birthweek? Well I am unashamed  to be one that celebrates the latter. I think people often turn the calendar over to August and realize that summer has gone way to fast and there is still so much fun to be had before the kids head back to school. When August starts people are ready to start squeezing as much fun into the last precious days of summer. AKA my birthday week…heck if I could make it a birthMONTH I would :).

This year most definitely did not disappoint. We kicked of Julie Palooza week at Table Rock Lake with the family. It was so nice to relax and soak in the sun as we boated and swam. This year we went all out and got neon family shirts. Here is the crew (minus 5). We were lucky everyone was able to join us at least for a few days.

 10525807_841571622528727_5260176496640146290_n

My family has a handful of summer birthday’s so we celebrated poolside with cake every night. (Yes I am generous enough to share my birthweek with others as long as I get some cookie cake).

IMAG1690

Here are the cousins at Luke’s birthday celebration. (Photos from mine are still “developing” AKA my mother is a little slow to the upload).

 10346217_841568179195738_7731151547237811369_n

George and I cooked dinner one night. We found a bomb marinade recipe for chicken and veggie kabobs. They were a huge hit.

George Foreman here on the grill
George Foreman here on the grill

 We also got to try the famous Heffer-itias. A twist on the usually margs.I miss seeing my family on the regular now that I am living across the state. It is so nice to spend time with them.

Because I used up a lot of my vacation time on the honeymoon, George and I had to head back to KC for work Thursday and Friday. The fun continued when my mother in law and sister in law  headed into town and grabbed lunch with me and got a quick tour of my work.

10386251_10203727928311690_4741032178551209874_n
Sisters!

We all headed to the royals game to tailgate and catch a win.

IMAG1712 IMAG1706 IMAG1720 IMAG1715

We even saw friends!

 IMAG1718

Friday after work Julia and Elisa came to town for more birthday celebrations 🙂 We had a girls night out at Power and Light on Friday.

 IMAG1726 IMAG1725

Saturday was spent mostly shopping and prepping food for the party. Luckily we were able to work in a long run and swim. I know I needed the exercise before I stuffed my face with all the delicious food we made and people brought. I mean how could you resist this?

 IMAG1731 IMAG1730 IMAG1729 IMAG1728

You see these hotdogs? Yeah I bought a huge pack of the big fatty dogs for the party and decided to get a big pack of the regular ones just incase more people  than I expected came. Well my wonderful grilling husband decided that we needed all the hotdogs….. I mean look at how many we have here! I may be looking for some creative hotdog casseroles if someone doesn’t help me eat them.

 IMAG1732

It was great to hang out, eat and play games with my KC crew.

  IMAG1734

No, I did not buy my own crown for my own birthday party. But I am not going to turn it down when someone else brings me one. Now that would just be rude. PS. I love crowns 🙂

10574365_10203804562773249_88831485330074536_n

Sunday my boo thang surprised me with the sweetest gift. He had planned a nice dinner out, and when I started getting ready, he had my gift all set out: a beautifully coordinated outfit. He did some major research on my sizes and styles and picked out a dress, shoes, and accessories for our date.

Please ignore my awkward selfies/ posing. My modeling career did not take off for a reason.

 IMAG1760

Ps I was trying to by sneaky and cover up the athletic tape on my knee/leg…I do not usually stand like this, and no, I do not have to pee.

 IMAG1756

How cute are these little lady bug earrings? Get it? They used to call me Julie bug.

IMAG1741_BURST002

Matching shoes and bracelet.

IMAG1742

Oh and if you haven’t seen this yet, my sister posted some birthday pay back for this post I made for her birthday

Thanks for all the sweet birthday wishes. Its been a great year. Here’s to 23!

Leave a Reply

